Calhoun Community College Students Recognized with Awards at National English Honor Society Conference


Student members of Calhoun Community College’s Theta Beta chapter of the Sigma Kappa Delta National English Honor Society recently attended the organization’s convention in Portland, Oregon, and returned with a number of awards and honors.

According to chapter sponsor and Calhoun English faculty member Leigh Ann Rhea, awards presented to the Calhoun student contingent included the following:

  • Charles Smith received the Dr. Susan LeJeune Service Scholarship.
  • Jessica Baker received the Dr. Sheila H. Byrd Service Scholarship.
  • In the National Poetry Writing Contest, students from Calhoun swept the competition.  Mary Toro’s poem “The Curse” won first place and her poem “Insomnia” won third. Bridgette Pylant’s poem “Writer’s Block” won the second place award.
  • In the National Essay Writing Contest, Preston Pylant’s essay “My Name Is Written There” earned third place.
  • In the National Literary Analysis Contest, Jessica Baker’s essay “Bound by Obligation” won third place.
  • In the National Photography Contest, Jessica Baker’s photo “Abandoned” placed third.
Sigma Kappa Delta is the national English honor society for two-year colleges. It was founded in 1996 at Cottey College.  In 2002, the Society’s national headquarters moved to the campus of Calhoun Community College, where is now remains.  Dr. Sheila Byrd, Calhoun faculty member, serves as the national executive director of the organization.

With over 100 active chapters throughout the United States, Sigma Kappa Delta's central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate studies. 

Back to News Listing