two gentlemen of verona slider

News

Calhoun Theatre Presents Free Shakespeare Musical

February 12, 2021

The Calhoun Community College Theatre is excited to present its spring play, the Tony Award-winning rock musical, Two Gentlemen of Verona. This event is free and open to the public.

The show is adapted from Shakespeare’s comedy of the same name by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright John Guare, with music by Galt MacDermot, composer of Hair. The songs are rock, R&B, ballads, and even some spicy salsa, all under the musical direction of Lauren Cantrell Salerno. The musical features a lot of dancing that is choreographed by Angela Green, and a live six-piece band under the director of Newt Johnson.

To enhance safety, each performance will be limited to 75 audience members, who will be required to wear masks. There will be no tickets or reservations, so only the first 75 arrivals will be admitted. Social distancing procedures will be followed. Individuals in pairs or the same group will be allowed to sit together, but all groups, pairs, and individuals will be socially distanced from one another.

The musical will be presented in downtown Decatur at the Alabama Center for the Arts’ Black Box Theatre, 133 2nd Ave, on the following dates and times:

  • Wednesday, February 17, 7:00 pm
  • Thursday, February 18, 7:00 pm
  • Friday, February 19, 7:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 20, 7:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 21, 2:00 pm matinee
  • Tuesday, February 23, 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, February 24, 1:00 pm matinee
  • Thursday, February 25, 7:00 pm
  • Friday, February 26, 7:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 27, 5:00 pm special starting time

The show will last approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes, which includes a ten-minute intermission.

For more information, visit www.calhoun.edu/theatre or email william.provin@calhoun.edu.

two gentlemen of verona slider